Hualin Temple is located at the southern foot of Ping Mountain, outside the compound of the Fujian provincial government. It was built in the second year during the period of Emperor Qian De of the North Song Dynasty (964 AD). It was originally called Jixiang Temple.In 1444; it was bestowed as Hualin Temple by the Emperor. There were stones bearing inscriptions in the imperial handwriting, the Mahavira Hall Huanfeng Pavilion, Juexue Hut, and Shenghui Pavilion.
The main hall is 15.5 meters high, covering 574 square meters. 18 wooden pillars stand inside the temple. The pillars are supported all by arch without a single nail being used. Such wooden structure is unique for the architectures built in Tang and Song Dynasties.
Regions in south of Yangtze River are normally rainy and humid, which makes it hard for old wooden buildings to survive. Now, only the great hall of the Buddhist temple is kept. The gate of a Buddhist temple, halls on both sides of the temple and the formal imperial court were rebuilt later. The Main Hall at the temple is one of the ancient wooden structures existing south of the Changjiang River.
In 1983, the temple was listed as major cultural relics under the state protection.
Location: No.78 Hualin Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou.
Entrance Fee: RMB 2
Transportation: Take bus No. 802、905、729 or19 and get off at Pingshan Road.
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here