Kaiyuan Temple is the oldest temple in Fuzhou with a history of more than 1,500 years. It was built in the third year of Emperor Tai Qing of the Nan Dynasty. It was initially named Dayun temple. At the beginning of Tang Dynasty, it was called Longxing temple. In 735, it was changed to current name. The temple name was inscribed by then famous calligrapher, Ouyang Xun. Kaiyuan Temple used to be the largest Buddhist Temple in Fuzhou, which covered one tenth of urban area in the past. In 845, the government ordered that only one temple should be retained per state. Thus Kaiyuan temple was preserved due to its scale.
Later, in the year 902, an altar was erected within the Temple where over 3,000 persons pledged loyalty to Buddhism by shaving their heads and swearing to abstain from worldly things. By the year 928, the number of monks worshipping at the Temple had exponentially grown to 20,000. the temple has been burnt for several times. In 1797, it was repaired. The temple was the venue where famous monks from Japan and India stayed for practices and training.
Existing relics: iron Amitayus Buddha (Merciful Buddha), this remarkable Amitayus Buddha is over 900 years old and ways almost 100,000kg; 7-floored stone tower and stone sink built in Song Dynasty; Ming-style pavilion and Qing-style hall.
Now, the temple is listed as major cultural relics under provincial protection. It is famous for its Fujian Buddhist Association Clinic, where Buddhist masters have long cured folks of everything from cancer to colic.
Location: No.78 Kaiyuan Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou
Entrance Fee: Free
Transportation: Take bus No.117 or 129 and get off at Gudong Road stop
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here