First built in the Tang Dynasty, the Shuiguanyin Pavilion lies in the center of South Lake. During the reign of Zhende in the Ming dynasty, it was once used as a dressing room by Concubine Lou, wife of Prince Ning (Zhu Chenhao, a member of Ming Dynasty's Royal Family). During the reign of Wanli in the Ming Dynasty it became the villa of Prime Minister Zhang Wei, also called Xinghua (Apricot blossom) House. Tang Xianzu, a great dramatist in the Ming Dynasty, once composed poems here.
In the Qing Dynasty it was repaired with public donations in memory of Concubine Lou, and it was for the first time called Yinshi Nunnery. In the fifty-third year of the reign of Qianlong in the Qing Dynasty (1788 A.D.), it was repaired again and renames as Guanyin Pavilion or Shuiguanyin Pavilion. There is a narrow lane leading to Guanji Bridge. In 1919, the pavilion underwent another renovation by use of public donation, covering an area of 200 square kilometers.
The pavilion is a two-storied building with a brick wall around to keep away from the flood. Typical Chinese elements such as White wall, black tiles, carved beams and red pillars are applied to the architecture. Nestled in hustle-bustle downtown, the pavilion offers a sense of tranquility.
After the liberation, the site is used as the office for Jiangxi Provincial Cultural Relics Administration Committee and a venue for cultural relic exhibition. In 1986, repair and renovation project were carried out. New square and gates were added. It is also the location for Nanchang Art Academy.
Location: No.34 Nanhu Road, Nanchang City
Entrance Fee: Free
Transportation: Bus No.17
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here