Chunyang Palace, built in the Ming Dynasty, features a unique architectural layout to commemorate the Taoist priest Lu Chunyang of the Tang Dynasty. It was initially built in the later Song Dynasty (960-1279) for giving sacrifices to the Taoism supernatural being Lu Dongbin, so it also has a name of Luzu Temple. During the Ming and Qing Dynasty (1636-1912), it was extended to its existing scale.
Chunyang Palace is a five graded courtyard, integrates the style of temple and garden. There are various pavilions and kiosks. In front of the door, four three-floor wooden mills are very attractive for their unique styles and special colors. Luzu Temple is the main hall of Chunyang Palace, and it lies in the central of the courtyard. Three rooms of Luzu Temple are broad and square. So Luzu Temple is the most magnificent architecture in the palace. The style of the courtyard behind the hall is unique, it is said that it is built according to the directions of the Eight Diagrams, having obvious Taoism architecture characteristics. It is also the essence of the whole Chunyang Palace.
In addition, the relics left in Chunyang Palace by such historical celebrities as Emperor Li Shimin, Di Renjie, Kou Zhun, Luo Guanzhong, and Fu Shan strengthen the historical and cultural charm of Taiyuan.
Location: Northwest of 51 Square, Taiyuan
Entrance Fee: RMB 5
Opening hour: 8:00-18:00 in summer, 9:00-17:00 in winter.
Transportation: Take Bus 3, 4, 5 to 51 Square, and then walk to the temple.
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here