Located in the central Honghuagang District, Xiangshan Temple serves both as tourist and Buddhist resort, the only one in Zunyi city. It is a major historical and cultural site protected at provincial level.As the largest in Zunyi and dated from the 1920s, the temple remains an active temple with worshippers in frequent attendance. The road leading to the temple is a busy and crowded market street thronging with a good many of food and fruit vendors, fortune tellers and incense sellers.
Overhanging Xiangjiang River, Xiangshan Temple is surrounded by mountains. It was initially built during reign of Tang Daizong (766-779).It was called Wanfu Temple at that time. During Yuan Dynasty (1297-1307),the name was changed to Huguo Temple. During Ming Dynasty(1628), it was named after Xiangshan Temple due to its location. During Qing Dynasty (1796-1820), it was renamed as Shuanquan Temple for two springs near the temple. However, the name of Xiangshan Temple has been mostly used.
The temple looks magnificent and imposing with reasonable layout and exquisite craftsmanship .Hall of heavenly Kings, The Great Buddha's Hall and The Mother Buddha's Hall stands at the central axis. Besides three major halls, there are gate, Buddha Hall and Scripture Collection Building. The foundation of temple is made of blue stones. The railing around the Halls are made of white stones, which are exquisitely carved, thus the whole temple looks more elegant.
Wanjing Building is on the left of Heavenly Kings' Hall. It is a triple eave roof building with a height of 15 meters. There are total 84 overhang roofs with Chinese New Year Flowers hanging below. On the building are 24 interlacing cornices. Corridors are formed in the first two floors with columns in all sides.
Xiangshan Temple has a rough history. It was thriving in Song and Yuan Dynasty. While in Ming dynasty, it was burned to ashes in a battle. During Qing Dynasty, some government officials and monks made some donations to restore the temple.
After founding of People's Republic of China in 1949, the government made great efforts to restore the temple: Buddha statues at large were sent back, Jade Buddha from Myanmar, and wooden sculpture and religious instruments were given away. The monks went back to the Temple for chanting sutras. The temple came alive again.
In 1981, the Temple was listed as a historical and cultural site under city protection. Two years later, it was granted as historical and cultural site protected at provincial level. In 2008, it became a National AAA grade scenic spot
Address: Xiangshan Temple, Inner Ring Road
Local Bus: Take a bus that goes from the Zunyi Bus Station and get off at International Mall. There is an intersection in front of the mall. Go to the intersection, turn left, and then go along the road. You should see the main entrance of Xiangshan Temple.
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here