The Yuquan Taoist Temple (Yuquan guan), otherwise known as Jade Spring Temple, is located in the northwestern part of Qincheng, within the Yuquanguan Park (Yuquanguan gongyuan). The temple received its name from a jade-coloured spring that is located in the vicinity, and ever since its completion, up on the park's main hill, Zhongliangshan, it has been a Mecca for western China Taoists. The temple, along with the park that surrounds it, has a peacefull and pretty ambience, with graceful cypresses towering above, and some great views of Qincheng below.
It is not known in exactly what date the the temple was constructed, but the inscription on one memorial reads 1281 of the Yuan dynasty (1231-1368). The present temple was renovated in both the Ming (1368-1644) and the Qing (1644-1911) dynasties. The most famed part of the temple is a pavilion housing calligraphy works by a well-known Yuan dynasty calligrapher.
Annually, on January 9th by the Chinese traditional calendar the Temple Fair is held, mainly a celebration of Taoist belief and a chance for tourists and townsfolk to mingle and gawp at the meditating monks.
The temple, 20 km from the railway station, can be reached by taking bus No.1 to the terminus and then take bus No.3. If you are already in the Qincheng area, just take bus No.3. Alternatively it is just a ten-minute walk from the main square, to the northwest along Xinhua lu to Renmin xilu.
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here