Found to the northwest of the city, the Dragon Pavilion is a palatial hall built on a thirteen-meter-high marble terrace. As early as the Song and Jin periods, it was the palace where the emperors lived and worked. In the Ming period, an official's residence complete with garden was constructed. A pavilion was added during the reign of Guangxu (1672). Inside the pavilion are the emperor's enshrined tablets. Two dragons playing with a pearl are carved on a plaque on the pavilion, hence the name, Dragon Pavilion. It became an important place for local and official ceremonies and festivities.
The principle part of the Longting complex is the well-known Longting Main Hall, built in 1734 during the reign of Yong Zheng in the Qing Dynasty. The original name was Wanshou Palace (Palace of Longevity). It has a splendid stone foundation which is about thirteen meters high with seventy-two stairs leading to the top. The Longting Main Hall is nine rooms wide in the front and twenty-six meters high decorated with yellowish-green glazed tiles, delicate sculptures and beautiful pictures. The double-decker roofs warp upwards, giving the entire structure a look of elegance. Inside the Main Hall lies a huge black stone block called Dragon Stone around which thirteen rolling dragons have been skillfully and precisely engraved. Tradition has it that it is the place where ancient people received the imperial edict and where people enshrine the former emperors’ memorial tablets.
The great hall features traditional Chinese temple architectural style on a marble terrace. Stone tablets exhibited in the hall bear Chinese calligraphic inscriptions. Now, in the Main Hall, the wax figures of Zhao Kuangyin, the first emperor of the Song Dynasty along with his high officials and ministers are displayed. On each side outside the Wuzao Gate, stands a large stone lion, created in the Ming Dynasty full of power and grandeur. The road leading to Wuchao Gate is surrounded by a blue clear lake. The western lake is called "Lake of Family Yang" and the eastern called "Lake of Family Pan". Both families are renowned in the Song period, the Yang for their loyalty and honesty and the Pan for their treachery.
A park was built on the site in 1963 and has been designated as a provincial relic.
Admission Fee: CNY 35
Recommended Time for a Visit: One hour
Bus Route: 1, 20
Shanghai, Huangshan Mountain, Wuyuan, Jingdezhen, Beijing
Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Xi'an, Guilin, (Hong Kong)
Beijing, Xi’an, Shanghai, Guilin
Simply leave a quesion or find the answers here